Scott Dixon wins fifth Indy 500 pole to lead fastest front row


Scott Dixon dominated to win his second consecutive Indianapolis 500 pole position, putting up a four lap average of 234.046 mph, the fastest pole speed of all time en route to his fifth pole for “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing”.

The New Zealand native was the last to hit the track, beating out his teammate Alex Palou and Ed Carpenter Racing‘s Rinus Veekay who make up the rest of the first row in second and third respectively. Dixon said on pit lane:  “This is stage one. Obviously it doesn’t mean nothing come next Sunday. We’re starting in the right spot, we haven’t had a good record of keeping it in the right spot, but we’ll definitely be trying come next Sunday.” Ed Carpenter will start on the inside of Row Two in fourth place, flanked by CGR teammates Marcus Ericsson and Tony Kanaan in fifth and sixth respectively.

Dixon also dominated in the Fast Twelve and was the third car on track in the first session of the day, setting the bar high with a four lap average of 233.510 mph. That held to be the fastest ahead of Veekay and Palou in second and third respectively.

Next up will be the main event  -The 106th Indianapolis 500, set to take place next Sunday, May 29th.

Editorial credit: Grindstone Media Group /