NFL To Expand Playoff Field From 12 Teams To 14 Starting in 2020

NFL league owners on Tuesday voted to expand the playoff field from 12 teams to 14, making official a move that had been expected since the approval of the new collective bargaining agreement. The vote took place as a conference call after the league meeting in Palm Beach, Florida, was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

In the new format, each conference will have an additional wild-card berth. Only the top seed from each conference will receive a bye, leaving the remaining six teams per side to face off in the wild-card round. Had the rule been in place for the past season, the Los Angeles Rams and Pittsburgh Steelers would have made it into the postseason field.

NFL owners agree to expand playoff field to 14 teams


Editorial credit: Twin Design /