LSU Quarterback Joe Burrow Wins 2019 Heisman Trophy

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow won the 2019 Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York City. Burrow received 841 of the 885 potential first-place votes and 2,608 total points. Oklahoma’s Jalen Hurts finished second, getting 12 first-place votes and 762 total points. 

Burrow was the frontrunner to win the Heisman for most of the season. LSU was undefeated (13–0), with Burrow tallying 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns with the highest pass completion percentage in the nation (77.9). Burrow broke single-season school records for passing touchdowns and yards while throwing just six interceptions. Just last weekend, LSU won  37–10 agains Georgia with Burrow throwing four TDs and capturing the SEC championship.

No. 1 LSU will play No. 4 Oklahoma in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl in the College Football Playoff semifinals on Saturday, Dec. 28 in Atlanta.

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow wins 2019 Heisman Trophy by record-setting margin


Editorial credit: Debby Wong /